Thompson Springs

In 2016, Chicagoan Matt Smith formed Thompson Springs from a collection of backlogged songs about problems of the heart and near misses along the road. Along with Jacob Bicknase (drums) and Andy Goitia (bass), the trio recorded their second EP, Fond Regards, to analog tape in Madison, WI. The hazy sounding EP features Pat Sansone (Wilco, Autumn Defense) and frequent collaborator Rob Laakso (Kurt Vile and the Violators), and was released by Giraffe Boy Records in August 2017.